Australia’s best emerging winemakers celebrated at 2018 Young Gun of Wine

Brave New Wine husband and wife duo, Yoko and Andries Mostert, who have made the
2018 Young Gun of Wine Final 12.

The 12 finalists for the 12th annual Young Gun of Wine (YGOW) awards have been announced.

To be presented at Hobart's MONA on Monday June 18 during the art museum's winter festival, Dark MOFO, the YGOW covers four categories - 2018 Riedel Young Gun of Wine, Best New Act, People's Choice, and Winemaker's Choice.

The judging panel features Nick Stock (chief judge, Gourmet Traveller WINE) Mike Bennie (delicious.), Caitlyn Rees (2017 Gourmet Traveller Sommelier of The Year), Emma Farrelly (2017 Good Food Guide WA Sommelier of The Year), Michael Downer of Murdoch Hill (2017 Young Gun of Wine winner), Lisa Cardelli (Rosetta), Pip Anderson (MONA), and Rory Kent (founder of YGOW).

This year, YGOW the finalists winemakers hail from Tasminia, South Australia, Western Australia, Victoria and the ACT.

The Final 12 winemakers for the 2018 Young Gun of Wine (via state):


  • Hamish Young from Mada Wines, Canberra District (Shiraz, Sauv Blanc)


  • Sean Crinion from Dappled Wines, Yarra Valley (Chardonnay, Pinot noir)
  • Melanie Chester from Sutton Grange Winery, Bendigo (Fiano/ Viognier, Syrah)


  • Jonathan Hughes from Mewstone, D'Entrecasteaux Channel (Riesling, Syrah)
  • Ricky Evans from Two Tonne Tasmania, Tamar Valley (2 x Pinot Noir)
  • Gilli and Paul Lipscombe from Sailor Seeks Horse, Huon Valley (Chardonnay, Pinot Noir)


  • Damon Koerner from Koerner Wine, Clare Valley (Riesling, Cabernet Sauvignon/Malbec)
  • David Geyer from David Geyer, Barossa Valley/ Eden Valley/ McLaren Vale (Semillon, Cabernet Franc)
  • Rob Mack from Aphelion, McLaren Vale (Grenache, Grenache Mataro Shiraz)


  • Kate Morgan from Ipso Facto Wines, Margaret River (Chenin, Cabernet Sauvignon)
  • Yoko & Andries Mostert from Brave New Wine, Great Southern (Riesling/ Native Botanicals, Shiraz)
  • Nicolas Peterkin from L.A.S Vino, Margaret River (Chenin Blanc, Touriga nacional, Tinta Cao, Sousao).

Ahead of the trophy presentation there will be two People’s Choice events, the first to be held at the Prince Wine Stores in Sydney (Thursday 14 June at 6pm) and in Melbourne (Saturday 16 June at 12pm).

The winners of the various catefories will be announced at The Young Gun of Wine Awards ceremony held on June 18, an invitation only event, at MONA Gallery in Hobart.